California · published-coordinate region

Atwell Mill Campground

Look beyond the campground name. Compare the actual sites and the details that matter to your trip.

National Park Service
19Supported overnight records
1Published site categories
19Sites with a reported party limit
A useful starting point, not a fit guarantee. Site-specific warnings are absent from this export. Published lengths may include a tow vehicle. Check the official site page for current notes, restrictions, approach and configuration before booking. No live availability is shown.

A closer look at the campground

Overview The Mineral King area features the highest elevation campground in the parks. At 7,500 feet (2280 m), it is only open during the summer months. It takes approximately 90 minutes to drive the long narrow, winding, largely unpaved road that leads to the area and its two campgrounds. RVs and trailers are not recommended on Mineral King Road and are not permitted in campgrounds. Mineral King is not connected to the rest of Sequoia National Park by roads.  Recreation Trails to alpine lakes and mountain passes begin nearby. Facilities The campground is situated along the East Fork of the Kaweah River in a once logged sequoia grove. Atwell Mill campground contains 21 sites. The Atwell-Hockett Trail begins here. The campground has no sinks and no flush toilets, pit toilets only. Natural Features Hikes into the backcountry out of Mineral King will give visitors an ever deeper understanding of the beauty and uniqueness of Sequoia National Park. Hike to alpine lakes and over mountain passes, or climb a peak. Contact Info For facility specific information, please call (559) 565-4404. Nearby Attractions There are limited services at Silver City Resort, 1.7 miles (3 km) east of the campground. More extensive services can be found in Three Rivers, 23 miles (37 km) west of Atwell Mill Campground (approximately 1.5 hours away). Charges & Cancellations Payment in full will be charged to your credit card upon completion of the reservation. A $10.00 service fee will apply if you change or cancel your reservation. Additional fees will apply for late cancellations All cancellations made between midnight on the day before arrival and check out time on the day after arrival are considered late cancellations and will incur a $10.00 cancellation fee and will also forfeit the first night’s use fee. Cancellations for a single night’s reservation will forfeit the entire use fee but no cancellation fee will apply. If your campsite remains vacant for 24 hours after your arrival date it will be cancelled and made available on rec.gov. You will be charged for the first night's campsite fee and a $10 cancellation fee, all other fees after that will be refunded. Recreation.gov policies apply to all reservations, cancellations, refunds and date changes. Call (559) 565-4404 if you will be arriving 24 hours after your arrival date so your site won't be cancelled.

Full operator-supplied campground description · Scroll within the panel for more · Amenities may be shared by the campground, not present at every site

How much is documented?

Reported fields across the 19 supported campsite records here. A reported value can still need interpretation; missing values remain unknown in the planner.

Party limit
19
Vehicle limit
19
Vehicle length
19
Driveway entry
0
Shade
0

Bars show counts, not a quality, accessibility or suitability score.

The campsite mix

Tent Only Nonelectric
19

Operator directions

Atwell Mill Campground is located 19 miles (31 km) from Highway 198 on Mineral King Road, which turns off in Three Rivers, and 6 miles (10 km) before the end of the road. It is an approximately 90 minute drive. The road is primarily unpaved, narrow, winding, and deeply rutted in places. It is not advised for longer vehicles, especially recreational vehicles. No RVs or trailers are permitted in the campground.

Campground-level source text. Confirm the current route and road conditions with the operator.

THE ACTUAL SITES

19 published campsite records

Filter for my trip

Raw published values are shown below, including zeros and ambiguous text. They are not validated capacities. The planner keeps missing, zero and questionable dimensions unknown.

View all 19 published site records
Select a site number to check its official current details
SITE / LOOPTYPEEQUIPMENT LIMITSPEOPLE / VEHICLESDRIVEWAYELECTRIC / SHADE
Site Site: 02
Atwell Mill
Source updated: 2025-12-08
Tent Only Nonelectric
Tent: limit unknown
Numeric screening only
6 people
1 vehicles
Not reported
20 (raw length)
Not reported
Shade: Not reported
Site Site: 03
Atwell Mill
Source updated: 2025-12-08
Tent Only Nonelectric
Small Tent: limit unknown
Numeric screening only
6 people
1 vehicles
Not reported
18 (raw length)
Not reported
Shade: Not reported
Site Site: 04
Atwell Mill
Source updated: 2025-12-08
Tent Only Nonelectric
Tent: limit unknown
Numeric screening only
6 people
1 vehicles
Not reported
20 (raw length)
Not reported
Shade: Not reported
Site Site: 05
Atwell Mill
Source updated: 2025-12-08
Tent Only Nonelectric
Tent: limit unknown
Numeric screening only
6 people
1 vehicles
Not reported
20 (raw length)
Not reported
Shade: Not reported
Site Site: 06
Atwell Mill
Source updated: 2025-12-08
Tent Only Nonelectric
Tent: limit unknown
Numeric screening only
6 people
1 vehicles
Not reported
20 (raw length)
Not reported
Shade: Not reported
Site Site: 07
Atwell Mill
Source updated: 2026-07-15
Tent Only Nonelectric
Tent: limit unknown
Numeric screening only
6 people
1 vehicles
Not reported
20 (raw length)
Not reported
Shade: Not reported
Site Site: 09
Atwell Mill
Source updated: 2026-07-15
Tent Only Nonelectric
Tent: limit unknown
Numeric screening only
6 people
1 vehicles
Not reported
20 (raw length)
Not reported
Shade: Not reported
Site Site: 11
Atwell Mill
Source updated: 2025-12-08
Tent Only Nonelectric
Small Tent: limit unknown
Numeric screening only
6 people
1 vehicles
Not reported
17 (raw length)
Not reported
Shade: Not reported
Site Site: 12
Atwell Mill
Source updated: 2025-12-08
Tent Only Nonelectric
Small Tent: limit unknown
Numeric screening only
6 people
1 vehicles
Not reported
20 (raw length)
Not reported
Shade: Not reported
Site Site: 12A
Atwell Mill
Source updated: 2025-12-08
Tent Only Nonelectric
Small Tent: limit unknown
Numeric screening only
6 people
1 vehicles
Not reported
20 (raw length)
Not reported
Shade: Not reported
Site Site: 13
Atwell Mill
Source updated: 2025-12-08
Tent Only Nonelectric
Tent: limit unknown
Numeric screening only
6 people
1 vehicles
Not reported
20 (raw length)
Not reported
Shade: Not reported
Site Site: 14
Atwell Mill
Source updated: 2025-12-08
Tent Only Nonelectric
Small Tent: limit unknown
Numeric screening only
6 people
1 vehicles
Not reported
20 (raw length)
Not reported
Shade: Not reported
Site Site: 15
Atwell Mill
Source updated: 2025-12-08
Tent Only Nonelectric
Tent: limit unknown
Numeric screening only
6 people
1 vehicles
Not reported
20 (raw length)
Not reported
Shade: Not reported
Site Site: 16
Atwell Mill
Source updated: 2025-12-08
Tent Only Nonelectric
Tent: limit unknown
Numeric screening only
6 people
1 vehicles
Not reported
20 (raw length)
Not reported
Shade: Not reported
Site Site: 17
Atwell Mill
Source updated: 2025-12-08
Tent Only Nonelectric
Tent: limit unknown
Numeric screening only
6 people
1 vehicles
Not reported
20 (raw length)
Not reported
Shade: Not reported
Site Site: 18
Atwell Mill
Source updated: 2025-12-08
Tent Only Nonelectric
Tent: limit unknown
Numeric screening only
6 people
1 vehicles
Not reported
20 (raw length)
Not reported
Shade: Not reported
Site Site: 19
Atwell Mill
Source updated: 2025-12-08
Tent Only Nonelectric
Tent: limit unknown
Numeric screening only
6 people
1 vehicles
Not reported
20 (raw length)
Not reported
Shade: Not reported
Site Site: 20
Atwell Mill
Source updated: 2025-12-08
Tent Only Nonelectric
Tent: limit unknown
Numeric screening only
6 people
1 vehicles
Not reported
20 (raw length)
Not reported
Shade: Not reported
Site Site: 21
Atwell Mill
Source updated: 2025-12-08
Tent Only Nonelectric
Tent: limit unknown
Numeric screening only
6 people
1 vehicles
Not reported
20 (raw length)
Not reported
Shade: Not reported

Other places to compare

Explore the region

Straight-line distances between campground points, not driving distance or route advice.