Washington · published-coordinate region

Kalama Horse Camp

Look beyond the campground name. Compare the actual sites and the details that matter to your trip.

USDA Forest Service
27Supported overnight records
2Published site categories
26Sites with a reported party limit
A useful starting point, not a fit guarantee. Site-specific warnings are absent from this export. Published lengths may include a tow vehicle. Check the official site page for current notes, restrictions, approach and configuration before booking. No live availability is shown.

A closer look at the campground

Overview Kalama Horse Camp is located just outside the west boundary of Mount St. Helens National Volcanic Monument, on the Gifford Pinchot National Forest. 27 sites accomodate primarily equestrian users, with nearby access to trails for horseback riding, hiking and biking.  Recreation Interpretive Sites Hiking, biking and horseback riding trails Facilities Picnic Shelter Hitching Posts and Mounting Blocks Contact Info For facility specific information, please call (661) 702-1420. Nearby Attractions Mount St. Helens National Volcanic Monument Charges & Cancellations Cancellations Individual Campsites: Cancellations up to 2 days before a reservation start date incur a $10.00 cancellation fee.  A visitor who cancels a reservation the day before or on the day of arrival will pay a $10.00 service fee AND forfeit the first night's use fee including tax and applicable add-on for a campsite. Cancellations for a one-night reservation will forfeit the entire amount paid and will not be subject to an additional service fee. Group Sites Group Facility (including Cabins and Lookouts): A visitor who cancels a group overnight facility reservation less than 14 days before the arrival date will pay a $10.00 service fee AND forfeit the first night's use fee. No-Shows A no-show visitor is one who does not arrive at a campground and does not cancel the reservation by check-out time on the day after the scheduled arrival date. Staff will hold a campsite until check-out time on the day following the arrival date. No-shows are assessed $20.00 service fee and forfeit the first night's rate, taxes and applicable add-on for a campsite.   Refunds Visitors may submit a refund request through their Recreation.gov profile within 7 days of the end date of their reservation. Refunds will not be issued after the 7 days has ended. Refunds for debit or credit card payments will be issued as a credit to the original bank or credit card used to pay. For check or cash purchases, Recreation.gov will mail a Treasury check for refunds of cash, check, or money order payments to the address associated with the reservation. Treasury check refunds may take up to 6-8 weeks to arrive.  In the event of an emergency closure, the Recreation.gov team or facility manager will refund all fees and will attempt to notify you using the contact information within the Recreation.gov visitor profile.

Full operator-supplied campground description · Scroll within the panel for more · Amenities may be shared by the campground, not present at every site

How much is documented?

Reported fields across the 27 supported campsite records here. A reported value can still need interpretation; missing values remain unknown in the planner.

Party limit
26
Vehicle limit
26
Vehicle length
0
Driveway entry
27
Shade
27

Bars show counts, not a quality, accessibility or suitability score.

The campsite mix

Equestrian Nonelectric
17
Standard Nonelectric
10

Operator directions

From Portland, OR take I-5 north to Woodland, WA. Take Exit 21 for WA-503 E toward Woodland/Cougar. Follow WA-503 East; turn left onto Forest Road 81, following signs for Kalama Recreation Area. Travel 8 miles north; turn right and continue following signs for Forest Road 81. Campground is on the right.

Campground-level source text. Confirm the current route and road conditions with the operator.

THE ACTUAL SITES

27 published campsite records

Filter for my trip

Raw published values are shown below, including zeros and ambiguous text. They are not validated capacities. The planner keeps missing, zero and questionable dimensions unknown.

View all 27 published site records
Select a site number to check its official current details
SITE / LOOPTYPEEQUIPMENT LIMITSPEOPLE / VEHICLESDRIVEWAYELECTRIC / SHADE
Site 1
A
Source updated: 2025-12-06
Equestrian Nonelectric
Horse: limit unknown
Trailer: limit unknown
Numeric screening only
Not reported people
Not reported vehicles
Back-In
50 (raw length)
Not reported
Shade: Yes
Site 10
A
Source updated: 2026-05-13
Equestrian Nonelectric
Horse: limit unknown
Trailer: limit unknown
Numeric screening only
8 people
2 vehicles
Back-In
40 (raw length)
Not reported
Shade: Yes
Site 11
B
Source updated: 2025-12-06
Standard Nonelectric
Car: limit unknown
Numeric screening only
8 people
2 vehicles
Pull-Thru
50 (raw length)
Not reported
Shade: Yes
Site 12
B
Source updated: 2025-12-06
Standard Nonelectric
Car: limit unknown
Numeric screening only
8 people
2 vehicles
Pull-Thru
40 (raw length)
Not reported
Shade: Yes
Site 13
B
Source updated: 2025-12-06
Standard Nonelectric
Car: limit unknown
Numeric screening only
8 people
2 vehicles
Pull-Thru
30 (raw length)
Not reported
Shade: Yes
Site 14
B
Source updated: 2025-12-06
Standard Nonelectric
Car: limit unknown
Numeric screening only
8 people
2 vehicles
Back-In
30 (raw length)
Not reported
Shade: Yes
Site 15
B
Source updated: 2025-12-06
Standard Nonelectric
Car: limit unknown
Numeric screening only
8 people
2 vehicles
Pull-Thru
60 (raw length)
Not reported
Shade: Yes
Site 16
B
Source updated: 2025-12-06
Standard Nonelectric
Car: limit unknown
Numeric screening only
8 people
2 vehicles
Back-In
30 (raw length)
Not reported
Shade: Yes
Site 17
B
Source updated: 2025-12-06
Standard Nonelectric
Car: limit unknown
Numeric screening only
8 people
2 vehicles
Pull-Thru
70 (raw length)
Not reported
Shade: Yes
Site 18
B
Source updated: 2025-12-06
Standard Nonelectric
Car: limit unknown
Numeric screening only
8 people
2 vehicles
Back-In
20 (raw length)
Not reported
Shade: Yes
Site 19
B
Source updated: 2025-12-06
Standard Nonelectric
Car: limit unknown
Numeric screening only
8 people
2 vehicles
Back-In
20 (raw length)
Not reported
Shade: Yes
Site 2
A
Source updated: 2025-12-06
Equestrian Nonelectric
Horse: limit unknown
Trailer: limit unknown
Numeric screening only
8 people
2 vehicles
Parallel
60 (raw length)
Not reported
Shade: Yes
Site 20
B
Source updated: 2025-12-06
Standard Nonelectric
Car: limit unknown
Numeric screening only
8 people
2 vehicles
Pull-Thru
60 (raw length)
Not reported
Shade: Yes
Site 21
B
Source updated: 2025-12-06
Equestrian Nonelectric
Horse: limit unknown
Trailer: limit unknown
Numeric screening only
8 people
2 vehicles
Pull-Thru
60 (raw length)
Not reported
Shade: Yes
Site 22
B
Source updated: 2025-12-06
Equestrian Nonelectric
Horse: limit unknown
Trailer: limit unknown
Numeric screening only
8 people
2 vehicles
Pull-Thru
60 (raw length)
Not reported
Shade: Yes
Site 23
B
Source updated: 2025-12-06
Equestrian Nonelectric
Horse: limit unknown
Trailer: limit unknown
Numeric screening only
8 people
2 vehicles
Back-In
30 (raw length)
Not reported
Shade: Yes
Site 24
B
Source updated: 2025-12-06
Equestrian Nonelectric
Horse: limit unknown
Trailer: limit unknown
Numeric screening only
8 people
2 vehicles
Pull-Thru
50 (raw length)
Not reported
Shade: Yes
Site 25
B
Source updated: 2025-12-06
Equestrian Nonelectric
Horse: limit unknown
Trailer: limit unknown
Numeric screening only
8 people
2 vehicles
Pull-Thru
50 (raw length)
Not reported
Shade: Yes
Site 26
B
Source updated: 2025-12-06
Equestrian Nonelectric
Horse: limit unknown
Trailer: limit unknown
Numeric screening only
8 people
2 vehicles
Back-In
40 (raw length)
Not reported
Shade: Yes
Site 27
B
Source updated: 2025-12-06
Equestrian Nonelectric
Horse: limit unknown
Trailer: limit unknown
Numeric screening only
8 people
2 vehicles
Pull-Thru
60 (raw length)
Not reported
Shade: Yes
Site 3 - HOST
A
Source updated: 2026-05-13
Equestrian Nonelectric
Horse: limit unknown
Trailer: limit unknown
Numeric screening only
8 people
2 vehicles
Pull-Thru
50 (raw length)
Not reported
Shade: Yes
Site 4
A
Source updated: 2025-12-06
Equestrian Nonelectric
Horse: limit unknown
Trailer: limit unknown
Numeric screening only
8 people
2 vehicles
Pull-Thru
50 (raw length)
Not reported
Shade: Yes
Site 5
A
Source updated: 2025-12-06
Equestrian Nonelectric
Horse: limit unknown
Trailer: limit unknown
Numeric screening only
8 people
2 vehicles
Back-In
40 (raw length)
Not reported
Shade: Yes
Site 6
A
Source updated: 2025-12-06
Equestrian Nonelectric
Horse: limit unknown
Trailer: limit unknown
Numeric screening only
8 people
2 vehicles
Pull-Thru
50 (raw length)
Not reported
Shade: Yes
Site 7
A
Source updated: 2025-12-06
Equestrian Nonelectric
Horse: limit unknown
Trailer: limit unknown
Numeric screening only
8 people
2 vehicles
Pull-Thru
50 (raw length)
Not reported
Shade: Yes
Site 8
A
Source updated: 2025-12-06
Equestrian Nonelectric
Horse: limit unknown
Trailer: limit unknown
Numeric screening only
8 people
2 vehicles
Pull-Thru
60 (raw length)
Not reported
Shade: Yes
Site 9
A
Source updated: 2025-12-06
Equestrian Nonelectric
Horse: limit unknown
Trailer: limit unknown
Numeric screening only
8 people
2 vehicles
Pull-Thru
60 (raw length)
Not reported
Shade: Yes

Other places to compare

Explore the region

Straight-line distances between campground points, not driving distance or route advice.