California · published-coordinate region

Sage Hill

Look beyond the campground name. Compare the actual sites and the details that matter to your trip.

USDA Forest Service
5Supported overnight records
2Published site categories
5Sites with a reported party limit
A useful starting point, not a fit guarantee. Site-specific warnings are absent from this export. Published lengths may include a tow vehicle. Check the official site page for current notes, restrictions, approach and configuration before booking. No live availability is shown.

A closer look at the campground

Overview Nestled in the Santa Ynez Mountain Range, Sage Hill Campground is a great group camping spot with easy access to the Santa Ynez River. Spend time fishing or take in the epic scenery on one of the trails designed for both hikers and horseback riders. One of the campsites is designed for group equestrian camping and includes 12 corrals and a hitching post.Recreation Fishermen are likely to find carp, catfish, bluegill and the occasional bass that swim up from Cachuma. The Aliso Canyon Trail begins at the rear of the facility and continues to Upper Oso Campground, which is where the Santa Cruz Trail begins. The nearby Cachuma Lake Recreation Area is perfect for boating, fishing and kayaking. Facilities Each campsite accommodates up to 50 people, and the group equestrian site accommodates up to 60. Flush toilets, drinking water and paved roads are included, in addition to an extra large parking area to accommodate horse trailers. The closest dump station is at Cachuma Lake.Natural Features The campground sits in a flat area with some sites shaded by oak trees. Sage Hill is near the river, which flows into Cachuma Lake about seven miles west. The Santa Ynez Mountains make up part of the Transverse Range along the Pacific Coast of California. The landscape may become very dry by mid-summer. Nearby Attractions The campground is half an hour from the thriving beach city of Santa Barbara.

Full operator-supplied campground description · Scroll within the panel for more · Amenities may be shared by the campground, not present at every site

How much is documented?

Reported fields across the 5 supported campsite records here. A reported value can still need interpretation; missing values remain unknown in the planner.

Party limit
5
Vehicle limit
5
Vehicle length
5
Driveway entry
0
Shade
5

Bars show counts, not a quality, accessibility or suitability score.

The campsite mix

Group Standard Nonelectric
4
Group Equestrian
1

Operator directions

From highway 101, take highway 154 approximately 15 miles to paradise road. Turn right and continue 5 miles to Los Prietos road. Turn left past the ranger station to the camp entrance.

Campground-level source text. Confirm the current route and road conditions with the operator.

THE ACTUAL SITES

5 published campsite records

Filter for my trip

Raw published values are shown below, including zeros and ambiguous text. They are not validated capacities. The planner keeps missing, zero and questionable dimensions unknown.

View all 5 published site records
Select a site number to check its official current details
SITE / LOOPTYPEEQUIPMENT LIMITSPEOPLE / VEHICLESDRIVEWAYELECTRIC / SHADE
Site CABALLO
CABAL
Source updated: 2025-12-02
Group Equestrian
Caravan/Camper Van: limit unknown
Fifth Wheel: limit unknown
Large Tent Over 9x12`: limit unknown
Pickup Camper: limit unknown
Pop Up: limit unknown
Rv: limit unknown
Small Tent: limit unknown
Tent: limit unknown
Trailer: limit unknown
Vehicle: limit unknown
Numeric screening only
60 people
10 vehicles
Not reported
Not reported
Not reported
Shade: Full
Site CACTUS
CACT
Source updated: 2025-12-02
Group Standard Nonelectric
Rv: 99 ft
Tent: 99 ft
Trailer: 99 ft
Numeric screening only
50 people
10 vehicles
Not reported
Not reported
Not reported
Shade: Full
Site LIVE OAK
OAK
Source updated: 2025-12-02
Group Standard Nonelectric
Rv: 99 ft
Tent: 99 ft
Trailer: 99 ft
Numeric screening only
50 people
10 vehicles
Not reported
Not reported
Not reported
Shade: Full
Site PINE
PINE
Source updated: 2025-12-02
Group Standard Nonelectric
Rv: 99 ft
Tent: 99 ft
Trailer: 99 ft
Numeric screening only
50 people
10 vehicles
Not reported
Not reported
Not reported
Shade: Full
Site SYCAMORE
SYCA
Source updated: 2025-12-02
Group Standard Nonelectric
Rv: 99 ft
Tent: 99 ft
Trailer: 99 ft
Numeric screening only
50 people
10 vehicles
Not reported
Not reported
Not reported
Shade: Yes

Other places to compare

Explore the region

Straight-line distances between campground points, not driving distance or route advice.